gb Libraries»Forums
Barret Gaylor
31 posts
I am a game designer who recently became interested in coding in a handmade way. I am not that experienced, but I want to learn.
gb_regex bug or am i just doing it wrong?
I am trying to use the gb_regex.h file to parse a string and i am running into an infinite loop. the expression i am compiling is
char *ChatMessageRegex = R"Yes(^:[A-Za-z0-9_]+![A-Za-z0-9_]+@[A-Za-z0-9_]+\.tmi\.twitch\.tv PRIVMSG #[A-Za-z0-9_]+ :(.+))Yes";

Then I am running this code:
response ParseResponse(char *Buffer)
{
    response Result = {};

gbRegex Regex;
    gbreError Error = gbre_compile(&Regex, ChatMessageRegex, Q_strlen(ChatMessageRegex));

int Count = gbre_capture_count(&Regex);
    gbreCapture Captures; 
    gbreBool Match = gbre_match(&Regex, Buffer, Q_strlen(Buffer), &Captures, Count);

return Result; 
}

the char *Buffer will be
":tmi.twitch.tv 001 barret5ocal_tog_dev :Welcome, GLHF!\r\n\n:tmi.twitch.tv 002 barret5ocal_tog_dev :Your host is tmi.twitch.tv\r\n\n:tmi.twitch.tv 003 barret5ocal_tog_dev :This server is rather new\r\n\n:tmi.twitch.tv 004 barret5ocal_tog_dev :-\r\n\n:tmi.twitch.tv 375 barret5ocal_tog_dev :-\r\n\n:tmi.twitch.tv 372 barret5ocal_tog_dev :You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike.\r\n\n:tmi.twitch.tv 376 barret5ocal_tog_dev :>\r\n\n"

which shouldn't match so the call should return false (sorry about the long string the runs off the page. I wanted to make sure the string you got was correct)

The first question is whether I did anything wrong in this expression or code?